For immediate release


Round 9 of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals and day one of the season final double header at Coolum saw DPH Husqvarna reign supreme on the day with Todd Waters and Wilson Todd dominating their respective classes, both putting themselves in great contention to be crowned champions tomorrow at round ten of the series. 


Race Report below 

THOR MX1 saw DPH Husqvarna’s Todd Waters starting out the day on top setting the stage with a blistering fast lap time and victory in Racine Superpole. Championship rival CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Luke Clout who came into the day two points down on the series points ended Superpole in third. With THOR MX1 having their final back to back moto format of the season to start round nine, it was Todd Waters who would lead both moto’s from the outset and throughout to put his DPH Husqvarna in a great position for the overall. Luke Clout would run 4-2 moto scores in the back to back’s sacrificing a small loss to Waters again in the championship. CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Kirk Gibbs and  Empire Kawasaki’s Dylan Long would factor into the podium mot finishes. Yamalube Yamaha’s Richie Evans, Davey Motorsport KTM’s Caleb Ward and Penrite Honda’s Brett Metcalfe would all factor into the top five battles.

In moto three, to finish the days racing for THOR MX1, Luke Clout would chase Waters on Lap one before going down in a early fall along with a second crash a few laps later to ultimately end the moto in tenth position. Todd Waters would run away out front from Kirk Gibbs with Dylan Long posting another season best with a third position. For the overall it was Waters from Gibbs and Dylan Long in third. Todd Waters now sits twenty three points ahead of Luke Clout heading into the final round tomorrow with Raceline KTM Thor’s Hayden Mellross sitting in third twenty points being Clout.



Pirelli MX2 saw a dominating performance from championship leader, DPH Husqvarna’s Wilson Todd winning both moto’s en route to the overall win. Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster would follow suit with 2-2 moto scores, minimising the points loss to Todd in the championship with a second overall on the day. Yamalube Yamaha’s Jay Wilson would battle all day with Serco Yamaha’s Nathan Crawford as the pair would finish third and fourth overall respectively. Serco Yamaha’s Arron Tanti would round out the top five overall. Other notable mentions were DPH Husqvarna’s Bailey Malkiewitz was the fastest qualifier in the mornings session and would lead the second moto early before crashing out of contention. Wilson Todd now carries a twenty four point lead into the final round tomorrow over Kyle Webster. Jay Wilson sits a further twelve points back from Webster in third.



Motul MXD saw a head to head battle with WBR Bulk Nutrients Maximus Purvis and Raceline KTM THOR’s Regan Duffy. Not in the traditional sense in moto one as both riders came through from bad starts battling along the way coming together multiple times in one lap. Purvis would chase down moto one leader, Davey Motorsport KTM’s Noah Ferguson who lead the entire moto and succumbed to Purvis charge on the very last lap. Moto two saw Purvis again too strong for the field, with Duffy in second and Ferguson in third. That running order would ultimately lead to the overall positions on the day being the same, with Duffy now leading Purvis by twenty six points in the championship heading into the final round.


Yamaha Rising Star Rookies

Yamaha’s Alex Larwood would dominate the rookies class leading from the front with Liam Atkinson second and Ricky Chalmers third. The rookies return tomorrow for their second moto’s.


Yamaha 65cc Cup

Levi Townley (son of AMA and World Champion Ben Townley) lead the way on his Yamaha 65cc machine. Lochie McLaren and Jack Ellingham would round out the top three with the class returning tomorrow for their second moto.


Round ten takes place tomorrow at Coolum for the final round of racing for the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals series.