For Immediate release
Round 8 of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals concluded early after one round of racing for the championship classes. Due to an inability of the local regions medical services to provide adequate medical support with the local Hospital reaching capacity, a decision was made in favour of rider safety to conclude round eight of the series after the first moto’s. 



THOR MX1 again saw the Championship Red Plate change hands with DPH Husqvarna’s Todd Waters winning the opening moto and taking advantage of a first lap crash from CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Luke Clout who would ultimately finish ninth in the moto. The two are now separated by just two points heading into the final two rounds of the series at Coolum next weekend. Kirk Gibbs would lead the majority of moto one on his CDR Yamaha Monster Energy machine before succumbing to Waters speed, ending up second in the moto. Brett Metcalfe would ride to a solid third position on his Penrite Honda CRF450, unable to match the speed of Waters and Gibbs but comfortably ahead of the rest of the field. Empire Kawasaki’s Dylan Long rode to a season best fourth position with Yamalube Yamaha’s Richie Evans and Davey Motorsport KTM’s Caleb Ward both riding to season best finishes with fifth and sixth position respectively.
Pirelli MX2 started out the day at Moree with the back to back seven lap sprint moto format. Davey Motorsport KTM’s Dylan Wills claimed the $100 Holeshot award and would lead every lap en route to his first moto win of the 2019 season. Serco Yamaha’s Nathan Crawford showed blistering speed to charge through the pack and finish second, while privateer Isaac Ferguson would finish third. Championship red plate holder Wilson Todd finished seventh on his DPH Husqvarna while his championship rival, Penrith Pirelli CRF Racing’s Kyle Webster would struggle after a first lap fall and finish thirteenth. In a crazy day of action Yamalube Yamaha’s Jay Wilson also went down on lap one whilst attempting to pass for the lead and would ultimately be the catalyst for Wilson Todd’s first lap crash as the two came together in a big impact while Jay attempted to get back to his bike.

MOTUL MXD saw Raceline KTM THOR’s Regan Duffy charge through from a bad start to win the moto battling hard with Yamaha privateer Brodie Ellis who would finish second. WBR Bulk Nutrient Yamaha’s Maximus Purvis would finish the moto in third. Penrite Pirelli CRF Racing’s Rhys Budd would lead the moto early but crash in spectacular fashion in the sand section ultimately finishing in tenth position.

Regan Duffy now holds a commanding fifty two point lead over Maximus Purvis in the Motul MXD championship heading into the final two rounds of the season at Coolum next weekend.