For immediate release

Sunday July 14th saw round 7 of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals take place at Maitland NSW and by the conclusion of racing the THOR MX1 championship red plate had changed hands and the PIRELLI MX2 championship has tightened up to within just ten points!



THOR MX1 saw a massive points swing and after Raceline Superpole was won by Raceline KTM THOR rider Hayden Mellross, the top there riders in the championship were only separated by three points heading into moto one. The day saw CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Luke Clout take firm control of the red plate with a 1-1 moto score in the back to back moto’s and a second place in the final moto to secure overall victory, beating out his team mate Kirk Gibbs who won the final moto en route to second overall. Raceline KTM THOR rider Hayden Mellross was again solid with consistent moto scores to land another third overall. DPH Husqvarna Todd Waters struggled to gel with the Maitland circuit gritting out a day best 4th position in moto three. Penrite Honda Racing’s Brett Metcalfe was in contention for the overall podium before a fall in moto three relegated him to fifth overall.


PIRELLI MX2 followed suit from THOR MX1 with a huge change in championship momentum seeing Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster taking overall victory with 2-1 Moto scores allowing him to close up to within ten points of DPH Husqvarna’s Wilson Todd in the series standings. Serco Yamaha’s Nathan Crawford took an emotional first race victory of 2019 in moto one and landed second overall on the podium with 1-2 moto scores. Yamalube Yamaha’s Jay Wilson was consistent with 3-4 on the day to land third overall and keep his championship hopes alive.  Aaron Tanti on his Serco Yamaha failed to capitalise on a third place in moto 1 to end up fourth overall on the day and Red Plate Holder Wilson Todd had a challenging day with poor starts and a crash early in Moto 2 after showing good speed and track position early.




MOTUL MXD saw a dominating performance from Raceline KTM THOR’s Regan Duffy holding off challenges from Davey Motorsports Noah Ferguson in moto one and WBR Yamaha’s Maximus Purvis in moto two who would end up third overall on the day. Davey Motorsports KTM riders Mason Semmens rode to a solid third overall with great starts off the concrete pad.


Blucru Yamaha Yz 65 Cup 

The fantastic addition of the Bluecru Yamaha Yz65 cup was a huge success seeing the next generation of Australia’s Motocross talent racing on the same track as the professional heroes. With large rider numbers and a great mix of beginner through to advanced level juniors, the yz65 cup wowed the crowds at Maitland with close racing and a great display of talent.

1) Nate Thompson
2) Kayd Kingsford
3) Toby Huston