McKay victorious in three-way tie for Motul MXD overall

The Motul MXD class saw an incredible result at Newry’s opening round of the Pirelli MX Nationals, with Hugh McKay (Bulk Nutrients WBR Yamaha), Riley Dukes (Husqvarna) and Callum Norton (Penrite Honda Racing) all finishing the day on 60 points. On count-back, Mackay was awarded the round overall from Dukes and Norton.


Davey Motorsports KTM pilot Morgan Fogarty got 2018 off to a dream start by winning the opening race by four seconds from Norton, Dukes, McKay and Brodie Ellis (Yamaha).


In the second moto, Bailey Malkiewicz (Bulk Nutrients WBR Yamaha) held off a fast-finishing McKay for the race win, with Dukes, Norton and Ellis again rounding out the top five placings.



  1. Hugh McKay (Yamaha) 60
  2. Riley Dukes (Husqvarna) 60
  3. Callum Norton (Honda) 60
  4. Bailey Malkiewicz (Yamaha) 59
  5. Morgan Fogarty (KTM) 58
  6. Brodie Ellis (Yamaha) 52
  7. Jye Dickson (KTM) 48
  8. Rhys Budd (Honda) 42
  9. Max Purvis (Yamaha) 40
  10. Jai Constantinou (Honda) 39


Yamaha 125 Gold Cup sees Carafa claim first blood


Sherco-mounted Justin Carafa took charge of the Yamaha 125cc Gold Cup support class with a brace of moto wins from fellow Victorian Yamaha racer Cam Taylor, although Taylor pushed him right to the wire in the second race.


The two races saw carbon-copy results, with Carafa, Taylor and Tyler Darby (KTM) locking out the podium, ahead of Steve Powell (KTM) and off-road specialist Geoff Braico (Husqvarna).


  1. Justin Carafa 70
  2. Cameron Taylor 64
  3. Tyler Darby 60
  4. Steve Powell 56
  5. Geoff Braico 52
  6. Ryan Butler 49
  7. Nick Gannon 47
  8. Cory Watts 44
  9. Jono Krusic 44
  10. Jonathan Davidson 41


The 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals will continue at Appin in New South Wales on Sunday, 29 April.