Bulk Nutrients WBR Yamaha young gun Hugh McKay took a hard-fought overall victory in the always-tight Motul MD class around the picturesque Green Park circuit.

Mackay traded race wins with Kiwi Maximus Purvis (JCR Altherm Yamaha) on his way to the day’s overall, with Yamaha’s Brodie Ellis and KTM’s Mason Rowe enjoying consistent days on their way to overall podium positions.

In the opening Motul MXD race Davey Motorsports KTM’s championship leader Morgan Fogarty claimed the holeshot, but a mistake on the second lap saw Honda pilot Rhys Budd take over the lead, before he too surrendered it to McKay on the fourth lap. Fogarty finished second, ahead of Ellis, Riley Dukes (KTM) and Jye Dickson (Raceline Performance KTM).

In the second race, Purvis led the opening laps before Fogarty moved past for the lead on lap three. Fogarty led several laps before a mistake again let Purvis by. Purvis, raced to a 10-second lead over Queensland local Mason Rowe (KTM) and McKay, who clawed his way back from a horror start. Ellis crossed the line in fourth and Dukes in fifth.

The 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals will recommence at Ranch MX, NSW, for the second double-header event, on 14-15 July.

1. Hugh McKay (Yamaha) 65
2. Brodie Ellis (Yamaha) 58
3. Mason Rowe (KTM) 57
4. Morgan Fogarty (KTM) 56
5. Maximus Purvis (Yamaha) 55
6. Riley Dukes (Husqvarna) 54
7. Callum Norton (Honda)
8. Rhys Budd (Honda) 44
9. Liam Walsh (KTM) 42
10. Mat Fabry (Yamaha) 40